Which Jesus?

c. 1632
Image via Wikipedia

Which Jesus you ask in which I hold my allegiance to
I get some that says he’s the one who is charismatic
Healing is his game
And the occasional time exorcising demons
They probably are the same
Liberating the hurting
Giving wellness to them in return
I think this Jesus

Which Jesus you ask in which I hold my allegiance to
I guess the one who works in the realm of sages
A great philosopher or a teacher
Who makes Pharisees look like toddlers in how they think
Go figure
They ask him question and he asks more back
To show them their shallow reflections
Their well held understandings looking fickle
I think this Jesus

Which Jesus you ask in which I hold my allegiance to
I think one that had a vision to bring healing to the social ills
Not with just well intentioned pills
But on a better looking realm
One that speaks of kingdom
One that speaks of his over encompassing ruling
I think this Jesus

Which Jesus you ask in which I hold my allegiance to
I’m not so sure
Because all I know is
As long as he fits how I read of him
And as long as he doesn’t mess my ideology
I guess it’s the Jesus that
Looks like me
Thinks like me
And walks like me
I think this Jesus
Yes truly
Jesus conforming in my own image.

Leave a Reply

