The city speaks my name

People tussling
People screaming
The city speaks my name

Noise reverberating
Never-ending
The city speaks my name

Fights occurring
Over mindless quarreling
The city speaks my name

Empty gazes
On people’s faces
The city speaks my name

Endless shopping
On silly things
The city speaks my name

Couples kissing
Some end up hating
The city speaks my name

Some sit and beg
Some sleep in ditches
The city speaks my name

Some chatter happy
Some of them look sleepy
The city speaks my name

In need of direction
Making their transaction
The city speaks my name

Alone with my thoughts
I sit out and I watch
The city
Truly
Speaks my name.

2 thoughts on “The city speaks my name

Leave a Reply

