It doesn’t have to be a Spiritual Issue

Legalism is a sickness. And what sickens me is when people use the Bible as the source book for their petty games of prohibition. Someone posted on his Facebook status that according to the bible tattoos were forbidden. The verse is taken from Leviticus 19:28. But verses before that also stated that one should not eat meat with blood in it and the one about prohibiting the cutting of sideburns and beards.

Leviticus 19:26 “‘Do not eat any meat with the blood still in it.
“‘Do not practice divination or seek omens.
27 “‘Do not cut the hair at the sides of your head or clip off the edges of your beard.

How can one state that the prohibition in verse 28 is mandatory and just jump over verses 26-27? I think some people will tend to do so if they have a distaste in tattoos. But it’s a shame when people who profess they read the bible don’t do much reading at all. The just pick the verses that subscribes to what they believe is right. This is the thing that sickens me. I’m a Christian. I study theology and I have tattoos. So what’s wrong with that?

I just found out that new comments came up responding to my argument about the baseless stance of the whole “tattoo is forbidden” thing. Someone replied that,

“Sometimes (although I interpret this as “always”) the outward appearance is a reflection of what’s inside.”

To which I responded (not my exact words),

“The guy responsible for the Norway shooting looked anything but a brutal gunmen.”

And he responded back that “youths with tattoos on their bodies are either jobless, doing menial work(coolies), troublemakers, drunkards, dropout or a combination of these…a reflection of what is inside.”  (I say that he is simply stereotyping everyone who has tattoos)

So, you can see that some people will not back away from what they think is right. And as always, what they think is right is the position of the bible. Even with solid arguments they will always win. Because they will never change their minds. I’m not arguing that because tattoos are not a prohibition so anyone can just have one. Hey, if you like them, get a design you like. Not everyone is a fan of tattoos but it doesn’t mean that you have to make it into a spiritual issue which gets it all wrong.

Yes, I’m a Christian. I study theology and love it. I love tattoos and have them. But i’m just tired of these people who add whatever they think is right and call it doctrine. No wonder I’m getting cynical.

5 thoughts on “It doesn’t have to be a Spiritual Issue

  1. Mike Turner (@NorCalMike77) says:

    Good post. From my perspective, there is a category of sinful attitude that prefers to hold a rule or law over the heads of others for the pure goal of having control. This is a humanity-wide problem spanning the entire globe. While some of us are willing to discuss the inherent truths involved with rules/laws, for the benefit of the Kingdom and the world in need of the Savior, others are satisfied with finding their niche in some vehicle of ‘rightness’ (whether spiritual doctrine-related or social law-related) and using it as a tool to be in control over others. It’s like we’re prone to be fall for this kind of self-affirming righteousness, and it doesn’t even take a Christian to fall into this trap. Hence, I’m convinced it’s a manifestation of sin at large.

    Not that I’m comfortable with having them myself (purely personal choice), but…. Nice tat!

    1. j says:

      Mike,
      I agree…that some people instead of focusing on real Kingdom issues end up to bring their own kingdom agenda and make it look like it’s what the message is about. It’s disheartening for me to hear all these nonsense from Christians especially. Thanks for your comments. Glad you dropped by.

Leave a Reply

