speaking to the moon

Lunar libration. see below for more descriptions
Image via Wikipedia

if then a chasm
becomes our written story
of parting ways
as of now
in days
that have transpired
our lonely gazes to light

and if our distance
now colors
where our lonely feet now tread
flow down tears
for sleep
we find lacking
on empty beds

and if you so happen to speak
in the darkness when the stars
and the moon
becomes the substance of the night
please know that
I do the same
like our distance
makes us
talk to each other
like speaking to the moon.

The recurrence of the theme of:

A chasm created by an event of separation and a hope infused by imagination of two people defying the meaning of separation.

With a metaphor like “talking/speaking/gazing at the moon” which to me displays a connectedness that deconstructs the reality of being separated in ways that two people, displaying their intimate and infused hearts which reeks in the pain of being torn apart, relive their togetherness by the act of doing the same thing, being in sync, although being far apart.

I’m merely borrowing ideas from another poet, who wrote her beautiful depiction of it entitled “i hope you gaze upon the moon tonight” and from a song which a friend who was listening to entitled “talking to the moon” by Bruno Mars.

Anyway this poem is dedicated to my friend LL who directed my thoughts to an old emotion stored in my memory. There are still moments when i do feel the same way whenever i look up, and the night is clear and the moon it shines bright in the darkness.

Update: Gooseberry Garden- Poetry Picnic Week 7: Love and Loss

18 thoughts on “speaking to the moon

  1. Fountains says:

    I was going to suggest the Bruno Mars song to you, but it seems you’re already aware of it. 😛 It’s a good one. Very good post, too.

    Not to make you uncomfortable, J, but you post so much. You must have a continuous stream of analytic thinking that you somehow make into prose. You have such unique thoughts, and I find that you think in ways much deeper than the average person. I hope you continue writing and do something profound with your thoughts.

    1. j says:

      Someone beat you to the Bruno Mars song. haha. Yeah, i must post one a day so some of the posts get read. I’m floored by your compliment, as i see myself as just average and usually learn more from other people. I always wonder how other poets (yourself included) play around with metaphors and the words you use are some I have never known existed haha. I can be forgiven for that because English is a second language for me. For the writing thing, my sanity depends on it. 😛

  2. i.d says:

    My friend I keep returning to your youniverse as there is so much evidence. You truly dig deep and I consider you part of my search party.

    Magnifying Glass poised. Text Decoded:

    ‘and if you so happen to speak
    in the darkness when the stars
    and the moon
    becomes the substance of the night
    please know that

    I do the same
    like our distance
    makes us
    talk to each other
    like speaking to the moon.’

    Would it b possible to quote you in my investigation folder next Sunday? The civilians need to hear the truth. Case dissected. Signing Out. // Identity Detective

  3. Shashi (@VerseEveryDay) says:

    Dear J
    The moon has always been one of the anchors of love … we even have in our folk lore a bird called chkore who looks at the moon in yearning and die for the moon in the end.. I could relate to your this post a lot as I find its very interesting to know that at one time when you are looking at the moon, thousands miles across, your love also looks at the same moon…. and this kind of connection goes a long way…
    I liked your verse a lot and your lines touched me deeply…
    “and if you so happen to speak
    in the darkness when the stars
    and the moon
    becomes the substance of the night”

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your entry in the coming poetry picnic week 8 theme “Friends, relationship… ”

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html

Leave a Reply

