Give me

SPECT nuclear imaging of the heart, short axis...
Image via Wikipedia

Give me a heart made of stone
so I cannot feel, be pricked or pierced
So i don’t have to feel pain
pleading in the rain

Give me a heart like towering mountains
When i get hit I stand firm
and unmoved by words
because I could echo them back with the same kind of vengeance

Give me a heart that doesn’t pant
So i can run and not grow tired
and not stop for air because i have to
To outrun the maze this crazy life is into
and scoff at it catching up behind me

Give me a heart that’s unresponsive
in an explosion filled with truckloads of explosives
detonated to annihilate all sense of being
I come unscratched and unfazed
Alive but with a conscious sense of numbness

Give me all that, and i cease to be human
I cease to know a sense of injustice
like something is wrong
Give me all that, and I become less of a person
a walking zombie if you may
a lifeless plague of a being

Give me less pain i say,
I don’t understand it
why boomerang questions unanswered
Sturdy foundations seems like uneven surfaces
hope eludes and feels like no more than pretty fairy tales
A ‘happy ever after’ dilutes reality
like a mirage
it plays with the mind consumed with thirst

So give me…give me
give me less of a person
less of contemplated reason

but then again do i want this?

55 thoughts on “Give me

  1. Fountains says:

    I like how the first four stanzas read like a kind of pleading, as if the narrator is begging not to feel – but then in the fifth stanza states that if given those things, he ceases to be human. Very philosophical and painful.

  2. Kristen Haskell says:

    Emotions beautifully expressed when we feel stepped on by life but I always think the hard times are necessary in order to truly appreciate the good times. After all the grass isn’t always greener.

  3. Larry Meredith says:

    It brings to mind a statement in the Bible, “I will take away your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.” Very good presentation of the great question, shall we be a machine or shall we be human with all the pin and emotion that implies.

    Larry

  4. Bill Vanderlee says:

    Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  5. Old Raven says:

    You look young. I say that because your poem about “feeling,” about your heart and what you want and don’t want to feel … and in the end your questioning if those thoughts are even “on target” is most excellent. This is not something that I would expect from a young person. This is a good poem, well thought out and written, smooth and flowing.

    1. j says:

      Thanks for your comment. It made me smile. I guess my youthful look deceives the sights to see a worn and bruised soul. :). Thanks for your kind words.

  6. Sarah Johnston says:

    yes a heart of stone now that one is very interesting. i sometime think after one has been hurt time and time again the heart does turn to stone and at times it can never go back. Bitterness can set in and in the end you may never find true happiness or joy. I am not so sure if a heart of stone is good or bad. In times when you hurt so deeply a heart of stone would be a good idea to have this. Well done
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/05/today%e2%80%99s-feelings/

  7. megzone says:

    lovely poem there…
    we all need a heart thats made of stone πŸ™‚ cos its tripped n trampled upon but then a heart with no feelings is not a heart at all πŸ™‚
    good one.. the emotions came out well and i cud relate to every word here πŸ˜€

  8. ashbeezone says:

    Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity !! Highly Expressive !!

    It was indeed enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    https://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/dilemma/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  9. William Leed says:

    Very good entry. I love the emotion. It certainly does make you ponder about some of things we think we want or need. It does make us grow to go through the trial and tribulations of life.
    William

Leave a Reply

