Denial

If denial was something possible,
Or even conceivable,
To undo carvings I marked,
The engravings left from footsteps,
Embedded deep in stone tablets,
That spelt your name…
I could then put to rest,
Whatever trace of your scent,
That follows me whenever,
I set foot to places that were laced with your image,
Smiling back at me…
I’m awakened to conceive,
You disappearing in the mist,
As if it were possible,
I search,
In the hope of finding,
Yet Nothing,
Echoes in the distance,
Still longing,
But knowing,
The truth speaking,
What has already been spoken…
I wish it was easy
to conjure a steady motion
of forgetting
My discipline is weakened
When my heart
Rests in the place,
Where I bed my denial.

2 thoughts on “Denial

Leave a Reply

