Of toys and feelings

There was a phase in life, in reminiscing the time when my age was subtracted to reveal a miniature me, I was into these plastic figures of cartoon characters which I saw on the tube.

Now the technical term for these lifeless physical characters or miniature stuff that would mimic reality or the stuff adults played with, are toys. Technical sounded cooler I guess, it makes me sound scholarly but yeah, I know, I’m not.

I had a lot of these “lifeless physical characters or miniature stuff that would mimic reality or the stuff adults played with” in “reminiscing the time when my age was subtracted to reveal a miniature me.” From He-man (like duh, isn’t someone we understand as a “he,” a man? Funny name for a character but I wasn’t complaining, cause I just wanted to play) to turtles who walked like humans and practiced Japanese martial arts, just to name a few that is.

There was an endless array of variety to choose from, which made it hard whenever I would step into the store that sold these “lifeless physical characters or miniature stuff that would mimic reality or the stuff adults played with.” From all shapes and sizes, to a plurality of colors, we must have figured that the implication to this was that boredom would be simply eradicated. But it’s funny, in my
“reminiscing the time when my age was subtracted to reveal a miniature me,” even with all the variety, boredom was real, and it was still there like forever.

I look to that phase and think now where I don’t have to “reminiscent the time when my age was subtracted to reveal a miniature me” and to think about how even now when in the process of adding numbers to age, as grown ups, we still have some sort of these “lifeless physical characters or miniature stuff that would mimic reality.” And these things come in all shapes and sizes and a plurality of colors and whatever and the possibilities to what these things can do are endless, or even better, limitless.

But as what we learn from history, and it seems that we are ignorant from learning from it, it seems…history does repeat itself, regardless of one being in a “pre-modern” state of time frame of somewhere “post,” boredom still looms and lives even in the present as it has in the past. With all the “toys” (I’m using the technical term here) one just wonders, is it because of being boredom, people choose, instead of playing with “toys” (technical term), to play with feelings?

Because with “toys,” we animate life into it, but with feelings, a plurality of emotions comes into perspective, and raises the possibility of “if,” depending on which button we choose to press. Its seems far better then “toys” I guess.

A friend shared with me this statement, which I’m not sure who is responsible for it but I’m just stating that it did not come from my mind cause I’m not genius to be able to come up with the idea that states that “Out of all the toys in the world,people choose feelings to play with.” Well it somehow explains the reflection above and what I tried to do with it. Maybe the reflection would lead you somewhere in some form of viable wisdom or sage like reflection. Maybe it wont. I don’t know. But the thing is, feelings are fragile. We break them, and they might be forever disfigured. Toys on the other hand, we break them we can always buy a new one to replace what has be broken. Not so with feelings.

Know which one to squeeze and which one is better to caress.

Leave a Reply

