RE-BIRTH

This poem is my attempt in interpreting the of story Bryon Widner. This one really took awhile to write. The story echoes a narrative of what I’d call “second chance.” As much as I’m interpreting what I read, there are parts where this poem is auto-biographical as well. It is my hope that you resonate with the tone and emotions depicted in the poem. 

SECOND CHANCES…

…are hard to come by.

 

The PAST is at times like bloodstains on white colored fabric.

 

This STAIN
one that would never go away
it stays
there…
Remaining on the surface.

A disfigurement of a former glory
even after washing
though
fading
still remains.

 

BUT

 

Like seasons where a caterpillar weaves up into a cocoon,
an anticipation occurs,
ugly takes a makeover,
in the form of a whole transformation.

 

BUTTERFLIES

 

Call it evolution
Call it rejuvenation
Call it a reincarnation
call it metamorphism
call it redemption
call it
to be HUMAN.

Widening the chasms of the past,

…who i was,
a fire breathing dragon.

to who I am,
now
inhaling back the flames…

…is not always easy…

…Even if it is as far as the East is to the West.

Erasure? is it even possible?
of one’s disclosure,
of an already written story,
the past forever.
To one being written,
the future
an unraveling.

 

 

...CHANGE...
Is it just, skin-DEEP?
 Or 
A Heart, REBIRTH?

Though murky echoes,

of past lingers by,

reminding…

The horizon speaks,

of another story,

pertaining…

Hope

amid the stains below my feet,

Faith,

amid the fumes of my confession,

in the anguish of breathing penance,

in the narrative of second-chances,

my restoration,

made complete by,

LOVE.

2 thoughts on “RE-BIRTH

  1. Bryon widner says:

    Words can’t express how I’m feeling after reading that. It was powerful, inspiring, sad and dark all rolled into one. Thank you for that gift.
    Bryon

    1. j says:

      Bryon, Thanks for the comment! I’m glad you read all those themes in there. This is one of my favorite poems I wrote. I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

