The Bible + my preferred meaning = 34,000 church divisions.

One of those though provoking blog posts that I just happened to read. It’s entitled, “Does Personal Bible Reading Destroy the Church? (Paul Penley).” The blog post states that apart from denominational splits, one could equate biblical interpretation as an equal source for church splits. That certainly escalated during the Reformation era, which was spearheaded by Martin Luther.

Authorities were misusing their power to bend a certain way of reading the scriptures. They were manipulating the masses with their interpretation. This was the thing that got Luther all fired up. And then the rest is history. The ongoing conclusion that Penley states out is that, the Reformation which often stresses the importance of the bible being read and interpreted by everyone actually is responsible for divisions.

It’s an interesting article. And by that IΒ mean, “I never really thought about that, but I’m not a 100% with you but I want to see how the argument goes.” And so, although it does raise some good points, I’m not fully convinced…just yet. I’ll wait for his other posts to be more in agreement or not.

5 thoughts on “The Bible + my preferred meaning = 34,000 church divisions.

    1. Jon P.A says:

      Hi Tom,

      It has been a while (a very long while) since i blogged. I don’t have a follow up post to this unfortunately. Just one of those posts that was food for reflection. But I have to say this though about my blog here…a lot of the things that I wrote before was a time when I was still sailing here and there with my theological position. I can say that some of the things I wrote before are not positions I would take today but non the less important for my theological development. πŸ™‚ My denomination is somewhat Charismatic (indigenous church) from Borneo (Malaysia). We’re considered Evangelical but most of us here are Charismatic/Pentecostal. Thanks for reading. I might update the blog (or not, that depends).

      1. Tom Torbeyns says:

        Very interesting! πŸ™‚ Feel free to contact me about your church! πŸ™‚ Have you heard of Ronny Heyboer? He is a Christian helping abandoned children in Borneo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

